May 24-25, 2019
    The Kanawha Alumni Association (KAA) observed its centennial reunion celebration during Memorial Day weekend. Festivities for the weekend began on the evening of Friday, May 24 with the annual Burnsville School Reunion on the football field behind the school.  There, a large crowd enjoyed a potluck buffet and cookout.  Melodies of gospel and bluegrass music emanated from the stage as classmates and old friends reminisced. The event was dedicated to the memory of Jim Pritt and Tim Crutchfield, both of whom passed away earlier in 2019.
    On Saturday, May 25, activities kicked off with a parade that featured former Burnsville High School teachers Jack Stalnaker, Ed Stewart, and Ken Skidmore as parade marshals.  The theme for this year's festivities was " Coming Home".
    At the post-parade gathering, Master of Ceremonies Butch McPherson led the crowd in a moment of silence in memory of veterans and fallen soldiers.  Later on, he presented awards to the top three parade participants:  Class of 1962 (1st place), Class of 1964 (2nd place), and the Burnsville Bruin Ball Team (3rd place).
   Later, returning alumni and friends gathered at the school beginning at 4:00 p.m. to tour the building and visit the Alumni Center.  The annual business meeting and scholarship presentations began at 5:00 p.m.  Just before the meeting, a video presentation was shown that featured images from throughout the years at Burnsville School, from 1911 all the way to present day.  The stage decorations featured the old Feeney Funeral Home, a nod to founding member of the Kanawha Alumni Association. Tom Crutchfield was joined on state by KAA Vice President Donna Singleton and Jennings Dancy, who later delivered the invocation and benediction.  Eight current Burnsville Elementary School students who acted as servers for the dinner were also introduced.
    Several new inductees later took the oath and became official association members.  The John Godwin Memorial Scholarship, presented by A. J. Godwin, was given to Jasmine Leake.  The Jim Pritt Memorial Scholarship was also given to Jasmine Leake.  Amber Belknap, a 2018 graduate and association inductee, was on hand to receive a second-year renewal of her Claude 'Bud' Mick Scholarship due to satisfactory academic progress in her ongoing college endeavors.  Graduates Ashley Fincham and Mackenzie King received Mick Scholarships as well.  The Kanawha Alumni Association also awarded scholarships to Macy Rush, Jasmine Leake, Mackenzie King and Ashley Fincham.
   Russ McClain was presented with the Bruin Award.  The Alumnus of the Year award was presented to Howard "Sam" Conley and the Alumna of the Year award was given to Marge Hardman Burke.
   With a vote of the members in attendance, the previous slate of KAA officers were reinstated for another year.  At the end of the meeting, auctioneer Dick Graff held an auction for items donated to the association.  Special thanks to members of the BHS Class of 1962, John Armentrout, Sandy Conrad, and all others for their donations to the auction.
   Following the meeting and auction, a baked steak dinner was served to around 240 returning alumni, newly inducted seniors, friends, and guests.  The full day of events concluded with music and dancing in the school gymnasium.  Entertainment was provided by local DJ, Don Niles.
    Copies of the second volume of the KAA Cookbook "Cooking with Class" are available as are BHS shirts, polos, flags, and buttons.  Those interested can also visit the Burnsville Post Office for a copy of a special 100th year commemorative postmark.
   For more information on purchasing the aforementioned items, to see more photos from the reunion weekend, or to update your contact information, visit our website atwww.bhskaa.com  or find us on Facebook by searching for Kanawha Alumni Association. Go Bruins! 
    The following attended the 100th reunion:
Ed AcostaNorman BuddDeanna Parker Detamore
Grace Mullins AcostaConnie Posey BurgettRichard Detamore
Brenda AdkinsJohn BurgettBecky Durrett
Hank AllenMarge Hardman BurkeTom Durrett
Linda Gibson AllenClyde BushLeo Earlenbaugh
Aaron AndersonCorene Stump CareySue Singleton Earlenbaugh
John ArmentroutKevin CareyBrenda Edmondson
Margaret ArmentroutDebora CarrollDarrell Edmondson
Bill BecknerElizabeth CarsonJoan Wiant Fields
Amber BelknapLamona Brown CastoAngie Fincham
Michael BelknapShanda Marsh CastoAshley Fincham
Pandora BelknapMike ChapmanClint Freshour
Charlene BlakeRick ChapmanJane Wine Freshour
Gentalee Steele BlakeDora ChildersBrenda Gibson
Kristen BlakeTwila McPherson ClarkBurnard Gibson
Thomas BlakeHilda Brown ClutterBillie Heater Gill
Jack BosleyBarbara ConleyJames Godfrey
Kenneth BosleyHoward ConleySusie Godfrey
Shirley BosleyCarla Mick ConleyDick Graff
Iverna BouchPaxton ConleyJoe Green
April Ramsey BoyceBrenda ConradDean Townsend Grooms
Karl BoyceDonald ConradConnie Hamilton
Karl Michael BoyceDonna ConradMax Hamilton
Karlena BoyceLane ConradShirley Hamilton
Sharon Conrad BradyB. J. CookBetty Harris
Barbara Brown BraggJessica CookJack Harris
Paul BraggAllie CosnerDanny Heater
Darrell BrownDeignese Strader CrabbeLena Heater
Sherri Weidemoyer BrownNeil CrabbeDot Hefner
Deborah Stewart BrownSharrey Perrine CraigTom Hefner
Dianna BrownCortney CrutchfieldRose Buckhannon Hefner
Jeff BrownDavid CrutchfieldNeil Hogen
Jerry BrownJane CrutchfieldRuth Nicholson Huffman
Karen Cosner BrownCrickett CrutchfieldPatty Hutcheson
Larry Joe BrownGary CrutchfieldClaudette Jolley
Marista BrownDustin CrutchfieldDoug Jolley
Mary Sizemore BrownJanette CrutchfieldNancy Steele Kalinowski
Ronald BrownTom CrutchfieldJerry Kelly
Tammy Allen BrownBrenda Conrad DancyMichael Kelly
Sidney BrownJennings DancyRobert Kelly
Alva BuckhannonJack DeanRonald Kelly
Lois Ramsey BuddLinda Posey DeanShirley Straley Kelley
Site Hosted By Ohio Valley Online
Number of Visitors 320454