Kanawha Alumni Association96th Reunion
May 23, 2015
    The Kanawha Alumni Association (KAA) celebrated its 96th annual reunion on Saturday, May 23, starting off with a parade that featured 1959 Burnsville High School graduate David Parmer and his wife, Barbara (Jeffries) Parmer as parade marshals.  The theme of 'Be True to Your School' was present throughout the parade and other weekend festivities.

   At the post-parade ceremony, American Legion Post 33 was on hand to lead the crowd in the Pledge of Allegiance while the Braxton County High School Marching Band played the National Anthem and provided other musical entertainment.
  Master of Ceremonies, Butch McPherson, led the crowd in a moment of silence in memory of veterans and fallen soldiers.  Later on, he presented awards to the top four parade participants:  first place, the Class of 1965; second place, the Lady Bruins softball team; third place, the Class of 1960; and fourth place to the Burnsville Outlaws Tee-Ball team.

   That afternoon at the Burnsville Public Library David Parmer discussed his three books, including the most recent titled 'Burnsville:  A Pictorial History.' In addition to interacting with the audience, he also encouraged those in attendance to share pictures and memories from their own lives for the second volume of his Burnsville history book.
  Returning alumni and friends gathered at the school beginning at 4:00 p.m. for the annual business meeting and scholarship presentations.  The meeting was called to order by President Tom Crutchfield after an opening skit that featured Crutchfield as a schoolteacher in a classroom with his three pupils.  Those 'students' being KAA recording secretary Paul Peck (who donned a dunce cap for the occasion), a paper airplane-throwing Jennings Dancy (who later delivered the invocation and benediction), and KAA Vice President Butch McPherson (who was busy writing 'I will not whisper in class' on the blackboard when the curtain opened).  After the fun, ten current Burnsville Elementary School sixth grade students who acted as servers for the dinner were introduced.  Those students were:  Logan Conley, Cameron and Conner Bragg, Noah Allen, Kacie Drake, Camylle Leake, Izzabelle Smith, Haley Fincham, Chandler Herron, and Elissa Coffman.  Fincham then read a poem originally written by Bea (Bosley) Brown titled 'The Old School Speaks.'

    Four new inductees then took the oath and became official association members.  They were Megan Rae Dean, Sarah E. Mallory, Shayne Richard Aud Heater, and Carol A. Desper.  Four $500 KAA scholarships went to Megan Dean, Sarah Mallory, Shayne Heater and Brady Heater.  The Claud 'Bud' Mick Scholarships went to Megan Dean and Sarah Mallory.

    The Bruin Award was presented to Paul Peck.  Recognition of the 2015 Alumnus of the Year was given to Tom Crutchfield and Alumna of the Year was given to Carla (Mick) Conley.  Additionally, Mary Moran Bush and Jearld V. Moran were recognized as the oldest alumni in attendance at the event.

    With the exception of the vice president's position, which will now be held by Donna (Conrad) Singleton, the previous slate of KAA officers were reinstated.  At the end of the meeting, Dick Graff held an auction for items donated to the association which raised over $400.  Items included a quilt topper, rocking chair, historical panorama of Burnsville, and other assorted items and memorabilia.

   Following the meeting, a baked steak dinner was served to around 200 returning alumni, newly inducted seniors, friends, and guests.  Special thanks to Anita Miller and Helen Harper for preparing the lovely meal.  The full day of events concluded with music and dancing in the school gymnasium.  Entertainment was provided by local DJ, Bobby Stell.

   Festivities for the reunion weekend began on Friday evening with the annual Burnsville School Reunion on the football field behind the school.  There, a large crowd enjoyed an extensive potluck buffet and cookout.  Attendees enjoyed bluegrass music and songs by Lois (Ramsey) Budd throughout the evening also.  The weekend wrapped up on Sunday with the Burnsville United Methodist Church holding a service as they celebrated 100 years of fellowship in the community.  KAA members also placed memorial roses on the graves of former BHS educators who are interred at the Knights of Pythias cemetery in Burnsville.

   Alumni attending and their guests:

Brenda AdkinsAnna CunninghamRobert KelleyBetty Mallet Pritt
John ArmentroutCarl CunninghamShirley Straley KelleyDonald Pritt
Margaret Bragg ArmentroutPam Brown CuppariMarilyn Godfrey KiddyBetty Graff Pulliam
Gentalee Steele BlakeCarol Goodrich DeanHarold KuhlJimmy Pulliam
Mary C. BlakeJack DeanBonnie Mick KuhnKenneth Pulliam
Matt BlakeLinda Posey DeanFred W. KuhnTreva Singleton Racette
Thomas J. BlakeMegan Rae DeanLinda Conrad LeggettGarrett Ramsey
Kenneth BosleyShannon DeanCharles R. LloydNina Brown Ramsey
William Jack BosleyCarol DesperShirley Singleton LloydLouise Bush Ratliff
Iverna BouchShelba K. Skinner DeaversNeil LoveThomas Ratliff
Margaret Blake BoydBecky DurrettDelores J. LoydDonna Rhoads
Sharon Conrad BradyTom DurrettJerry D. LoydJane Riddle Richter
Barbara Brown BraggLeo EarlenbaughGeneva Williston LoveRoberta Lindsay Riffle
Denise Butt BraggSue Singleton EarlenbaughJeff MalloryJulia Mackey Robinson
Joseph BraggJoan Wiant FieldsSarah E. MalloryAnn Robison
Patty Conrad BraggJean Stump GarberSharon MalloryJim Robison
Paul W. BraggBarbara GibsonLinda Skinner Groat MarexLarry Robison
Jerry BrownBrenda Snyder GibsonLaurel Wine MartinBill Schindler
Mary Sizemore BrownBurnard GibsonDixie L. McCauleyJanet Nicholson Schindler
Ronald BrownRoger GibsonDonna McClainClark Schneider
Tammy Allen BrownMax Gillespie, Jr.Russell H. McClainAnn Shearer
John J. BushJames GodfreyJames McLaughlinVirginia Singh
Mary Moran BushSusie GodfreyButch McPhersonDonna Conrad Singleton
Bernard ButlerBob GraffDebbie Singleton McPhersonRuth Mick Singleton
Roberta Singleton ButlerCarolyn Pulliam GraffDoris Hardesty McPhersonDarrell Skinner
Sheila Bragg ButlerDick GraffJennifer McPhersonSally Skinner
Corene Stump CareyLinda Jeffries GraffLouis MillerJoAnn Bosley Smith
Debbie Steele CarrollRichard GraffRita Riffle McCauley MillerSusan Sours
James N. Carter, Jr.Dean Townsend GroomsLinda McCauley MooreLinda Singleton Spencer
Kathleen CarterRoberta HallRobert MooreJudith Cayton Steele
Betty CarsonJulie HaywardBill MorrisonRosalie Steele
Lamona Brown CastoBrady HeaterDawn Jones MorrisonWillard L. Steele
Roger ClarkDebra Heater-PetersMichael D. MorrisonDeanna Brown Stewart
Twila McPherson ClarkLena HeaterJearld V. MoranLowell F. Swisher
Bruce ClutterNoah Junior HeaterJohn "Butch" MoranMartha Belle Taylor
Hilda Brown ClutterShayne HeaterLee MoranHarry W. Vankirk
Patty Graff CobbVivianne HefnerVirginia MoranBilly R. Ware
Barbara ConleyPatsy Flint HeavnerTessie M. McGinnis MortonWilliam F. "Bill" Wiant
Carla Mick ConleyEva Brown HinkleStella Cunningham MyersCharles J. T. Wilson
Howard ConleyWayne HinkleTed MyersBetty Pulliam Wine
Billy ConradHarvey HooverBarbara Jeffries ParmerIrene Stump White
Karla McPherson ConradLoretta Brown HooverDavid ParmerJerry Wilson
Ressie Wine ConradRobert JackPaul PeckMargaret Wilson Willey
Dustin CrutchfieldJerry KelleyBetty PoseyLefty Wine
Tom CrutchfieldMary McPherson KelleyFrank PoseyRick Wine
Wanda McLaughlin Zolla
Site Hosted By Ohio Valley Online
Number of Visitors 320458